Anthony Kuhn http://ualrpublicradio.org en S. Korean Community Waits And Prays For Its Missing Students http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/s-korean-community-waits-prays-its-missing-students It's been a week of tragedy for the community of Ansan, an industrial town near Seoul. Many of the high school teenagers who sank with the South Korean ferry last week attended high school there. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 22044 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Search Continues For Nearly 300 Missing In South Korea Ferry Accident http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/search-continues-nearly-300-missing-south-korea-ferry-accident The search continues for survivors and answers in the South Korean ferry disaster. NPR's Anthony Kuhn offers details on the latest developments. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 21938 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Anger Boils Over For Families Of Flight 370 Passengers http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/anger-boils-over-families-flight-370-passengers Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish. It's not often that an airline accident triggers street protests, but that's exactly what happened in the Chinese capital this week. On Monday, Malaysia announced that the flight, MH370, was lost at sea with no survivors. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 21002 at http://ualrpublicradio.org News Of Flight 370's Suspected End Is Met With Relatives' Despair http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/news-flight-370s-suspected-end-met-relatives-despair Malaysia's prime minister concluded that Malaysian Airlines Flight 370 "ended in the southern Indian Ocean," setting off howls of grief and anger among passengers' families. The search continues for debris that would confirm the flight crashed. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 20:33:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 20784 at http://ualrpublicradio.org For Flight 370 Families, Every Day Is 'Torment' http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/flight-370-families-every-day-torment Family members of the passengers aboard Malaysia Airlines Flight 370 have grown increasingly frustrated in the nearly two weeks since the flight disappeared. Despite the efforts of airline and government officials, many relatives are angry about the lack of information. Some have even threatened to hunger strike in protest against the lack of information.<p>For many family members gathered at a Beijing hotel, the glare of media attention can be harsh. One minute, they are swatting away intrusive reporters who stick cameras and microphones in their tear-streaked faces. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 22:10:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 20621 at http://ualrpublicradio.org For Flight 370 Families, Every Day Is 'Torment' Politics And Power Complicate The Airliner Search http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/politics-and-power-complicate-airliner-search Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. We begin this hour with the politics of a vanishing airliner. The search for Malaysian Airlines Flight 370 now covers well over 2 million square miles. Twenty-six countries are still involved, 10 days after the plane's disappearance. In a few moments, we'll hear from the U.S. Navy about their efforts.<p>CORNISH: Meantime, China's ambassador to Malaysia says background checks of Chinese passengers on the plane turn up no links to terrorism. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 20:03:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 20495 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Search For Malaysian Jet Turns Its Focus To The Crew http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/search-malaysian-jet-turns-its-focus-crew Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Rachel Martin.<p>Malaysia is reaching out to dozens of countries as it expands the search for an airliner that went missing almost nine days ago. This comes after new data indicates that the plane flew for hours after it last made contact with civilian radar. Sun, 16 Mar 2014 11:51:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 20351 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Malaysia Airlines Flight Vanishes With 239 On Board http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/malaysia-airlines-flight-vanishes-239-board A Malaysian Airlines flight went off the radar on its flight from Kuala Lampur to Beijing with 239 people on board. Three Americans were on board, including an infant. Sat, 08 Mar 2014 12:53:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 19993 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Chinese Superstar Lifts Ivory Cause Onto His Shoulders http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/chinese-superstar-lifts-ivory-cause-his-shoulders Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Chinese leaders and lawmakers are huddled in Beijing for the annual session of parliament, and one man towers above the rest. That's because he's seven feet, six inches tall. The former Houston Rocket center Yao Ming is one of China's best-known athletes. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 21:16:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 19929 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Three Years Later, A Harrowing Visit To Fukushima http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/three-years-later-harrowing-visit-fukushima On Thursday night, I stayed at a motel in the town of Hirono, just outside a restricted zone in Fukushima Prefecture. Sat, 15 Feb 2014 14:54:00 +0000 Anthony Kuhn 19054 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Three Years Later, A Harrowing Visit To Fukushima