Liz Fox http://ualrpublicradio.org en Bowie Knife Exhibit to Open in Downtown Little Rock http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/bowie-knife-exhibit-open-downtown-little-rock <p>A new exhibit focusing on the history and design of the Bowie knife is opening Friday at the Historic Arkansas Museum.</p><p> Thu, 12 Dec 2013 20:31:12 +0000 Liz Fox 15971 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Bowie Knife Exhibit to Open in Downtown Little Rock Patrons Exchange 'Food for Fines' During Holiday Drive http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/patrons-exchange-food-fines-during-holiday-drive <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The Central Arkansas Library System is hosting its annual Food for Fines drive to provide for needy families across the state.</span></p><p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 22:31:35 +0000 Liz Fox 15923 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Patrons Exchange 'Food for Fines' During Holiday Drive Meteor Shower to Brighten Weekend Atmosphere http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/meteor-shower-brighten-weekend-atmosphere <p>Several falling stars will be seen across Arkansas skies as the Geminid meteor shower takes place this weekend.</p><p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 19:47:06 +0000 Liz Fox 15911 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Meteor Shower to Brighten Weekend Atmosphere Water Officials Encouraging Residents to Prevent Frozen Pipes http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/water-officials-encouraging-residents-prevent-frozen-pipes <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Customers are being urged by Central Arkansas Water to take precautions to prevent frozen plumbing as temperatures plummet into the teens this weekend.</span></p><p>The agency recommends leaving a small stream of water running through faucets, which will reduce the chances of freezing during the evening and overnight hours.</p><p>According to CAW spokesman John Tynan, pipes broken as a result of freezing can cause water damage and additional difficulties for homeowners.</p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 20:39:48 +0000 Liz Fox 15599 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Water Officials Encouraging Residents to Prevent Frozen Pipes Additional Crews Brought In to Prepare For Winter Weather http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/additional-crews-brought-prepare-winter-weather <p>Several thousand additional workers have been brought in by Entergy Arkansas in advance of the pending winter storm which could bring widespread outages.</p><p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 17:22:55 +0000 Liz Fox 15583 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Additional Crews Brought In to Prepare For Winter Weather Flights Resume After Fog, Prepare for Wintry Mix http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/flights-resume-after-fog-prepare-wintry-mix <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Little Rock's Bill &amp; Hillary Clinton National Airport is resuming normal operations after Tuesday's dense fog prohibited air travel.</span></p> Wed, 04 Dec 2013 20:51:17 +0000 Liz Fox 15532 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Flights Resume After Fog, Prepare for Wintry Mix Arkansas Nonprofit Participates in Regional Food Challenge http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/arkansas-nonprofit-participates-regional-food-challenge <p>The Delta Grassroots Caucus has announced a collaboration with regional organizations to ensure needy families are fed during the holiday season. Wed, 27 Nov 2013 20:58:55 +0000 Liz Fox 15234 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Rainfall Expected to Bring More Ducks for Hunting Season http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/rainfall-expected-bring-more-ducks-hunting-season <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Arkansans hunters taking part in duck season may notice an increased population of game when venturing out during the first days of the season this weekend.</span></p><p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 20:42:37 +0000 Liz Fox 14901 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Rainfall Expected to Bring More Ducks for Hunting Season Sign-Ups Continue for State Medicaid Program http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/sign-ups-continue-state-medicaid-program <p>More than 58,000 Arkansans have enrolled for coverage under the state's newly expanded Medicaid program, according to the Arkansas Department of Human Services.&nbsp; That's more than a quarter of the 250,000 candidates, who earn up to 138 percent of the poverty rate.</p><p>Eligible residents are also able to purchase subsidized insurance through a new health marketplace, which was established in October.</p><p>According to DHS spokeswoman Amy Webb, the latest numbers indicate a positive reaction from consumers.</p> Thu, 21 Nov 2013 20:31:52 +0000 Liz Fox 14899 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Forecasters Expect Weekend Winter Weather in Northwest Arkansas http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/forecasters-expect-weekend-winter-weather-northwest-arkansas <p></p><p>The National Weather Service has issued a forecast that calls for a possible mix of sleet, freezing rain and snow to enter parts of Arkansas this weekend.</p><p> Wed, 20 Nov 2013 20:05:21 +0000 Liz Fox 14847 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Forecasters Expect Weekend Winter Weather in Northwest Arkansas