Shankar Vedantam http://ualrpublicradio.org en When Work Becomes A Haven From Stress At Home http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/when-work-becomes-haven-stress-home In the land that came up with the phrase "Thank God it's Friday," and a restaurant chain to capitalize on the sense of relief many feel as the work week ends, researchers made an unusual finding in 2012.<p>Moms who worked full time reported significantly better physical and mental health than moms who worked part time, research involving more than 2,500 mothers found. And mothers who worked part time reported better health than moms who didn't work at all.<p>Working and juggling family responsibilities can be stressful. Tue, 15 Jul 2014 07:30:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 26502 at http://ualrpublicradio.org When Work Becomes A Haven From Stress At Home Some Parole Requirements Could Be Increasing The Crime Rate http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/some-parole-requirements-could-be-increasing-crime-rate Prisoners who are released invariably make it back to the areas where they came from. Does this have a positive or negative effect on crime? Research triggered by Hurricane Katrina offers insight. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 26081 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Safety Feature For Pedestrians Has Undesired Consequence http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/safety-feature-pedestrians-has-undesired-consequence New analysis finds that the countdown clocks telling pedestrians how much time they have to cross the intersection actually increase traffic crashes. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 09:21:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 25716 at http://ualrpublicradio.org How To Sell Green Products To The Self-Regarding Consumer http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/how-sell-green-products-self-regarding-consumer Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>When consumers think about green products, they often face a dilemma - that car that uses less gasoline or a more efficient refrigerator tends to cost more. Buyers have to choose whether money is more important to them than public good. Now new research shows there might be a way to boost interest in these products, at least among a core group of consumers. NPR social science correspondent Shankar Vedantam is here to talk with us about that. Thu, 26 Jun 2014 11:36:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 25463 at http://ualrpublicradio.org 6 Decades Of Research Examines Prisoners Of War http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/6-decades-research-examines-prisoners-war Transcript <p>LINDA WERTHEIMER, HOST: <p>The Taliban's recent release of Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl has prompted a firestorm of political debate. Bergdahl was captured by the Taliban after he wandered away from his unit in Afghanistan. Some have rushed to brand him a deserter and a traitor. Other,s including his friends and family, have rushed to his defense. Today we step away from that debate to look at what we've learned about the psychological effects of being captured in wartime. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 11:00:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 25131 at http://ualrpublicradio.org What's In A Grunt — Or A Sigh, Or A Sob? Depends On Where You Hear It http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/whats-grunt-or-sigh-or-sob-depends-where-you-hear-it Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR news this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. Hear a laugh, you know someone's happy. Hear a sob, you know someone is sad. Or are they? It's been thought that no matter where you live in the world, people express emotions using the same repertoire of sounds. Fri, 30 May 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 24053 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Does Diversity On Research Team Improve Quality Of Science? http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/does-diversity-research-team-improve-quality-science As science becomes more diverse, scientific collaborators are growing more diverse, too. New research exploring the effect of this change suggests the diversity of the teams that produce scientific research play a big role in how successful the science turns out to be. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:43:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 20628 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Minority Aspirants To Federal Bench Are Hindered By Underrating http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/minority-aspirants-federal-bench-are-hindered-underrating Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. When a president taps someone to become a federal judge, the American Bar Association reviews and rates the nominee. That rating shapes whether the president's pick is confirmed by the Senate. Now, new analysis claims that the ABA ratings are biased. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 19563 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Cash Or Credit? How Kids Pay For School Lunch Matters For Health http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/cash-or-credit-how-kids-pay-school-lunch-matters-health American kids have a problem with obesity, according to the <a href="http://www.cdc.gov/obesity/childhood/">most recent studies</a>. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 08:37:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 17603 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Cash Or Credit? How Kids Pay For School Lunch Matters For Health Lessons In Leadership: It's Not About You. (It's About Them) http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/lessons-leadership-its-not-about-you-its-about-them Ronald Heifetz has been a professor of public leadership at Harvard's Kennedy School for three decades, teaching classes that have included aspiring business leaders and budding heads of state. Each year, he says, the students start his course thinking they'll learn the answer to one question:<p>As leaders, how can they get others to follow them?<p>Heifetz says that whole approach is wrong.<p>"The dominant view of leadership is that the leader has the vision and the rest is a sales problem," he says. Mon, 11 Nov 2013 08:20:00 +0000 Shankar Vedantam 14300 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Lessons In Leadership: It's Not About You. (It's About Them)