Weekend Edition Saturday http://ualrpublicradio.org en Top Teams Sitting Out Of NBA Playoffs http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/top-teams-sitting-out-nba-playoffs Some of the NBA's hottest teams missed the cut for this year's playoffs. And to what lengths will Cuban athletes go for a chance to play in the MLB? ESPN.com's Howard Bryant tells NPR's Wade Goodwyn. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 14:09:00 +0000 editor 22027 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Bringing Poetry And High Culture To Sao Paulo's Periphery http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/bringing-poetry-and-high-culture-sao-paulos-periphery Poetry in an unlikely place: In a grim urban shanty town in the middle of Sao Paulo, budding poets from the poorest sections of Brazilian society get together weekly to compose and recite poetry. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 22022 at http://ualrpublicradio.org NCAA Beats 'Strategic Retreat' On Food Rules For Student-Athletes http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/ncaa-beats-strategic-retreat-food-rules-student-athletes The NCAA is facing scrutiny for how it treats student-athletes. NPR's Wade Goodwyn talks to columnist New York Times Joe Nocera about changes the organization made this week. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 editor 22023 at http://ualrpublicradio.org 'Say Anything,' Still Full Of Guileless Affection http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/say-anything-still-full-guileless-affection Monday marks the 25th anniversary of Cameron Crowe's Say Anything. A look back at the seminal teen flick reveals a surprisingly deep and romantic story. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 12:12:00 +0000 Linda Holmes 22024 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Between Friends, Family And Country, Ukrainian Police Lie Low http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/between-friends-family-and-country-ukranian-police-lie-low <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=onRu5am9Rx0</p> Sat, 12 Apr 2014 14:55:00 +0000 Ari Shapiro 21717 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Between Friends, Family And Country, Ukrainian Police Lie Low Iran's Culture Wars: Who's Winning These Days? http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/irans-culture-wars-whos-winning-these-days In Iran, hardline critics are waging a campaign against President Hassan Rouhani to limit his campaign pledge of opening Iran to more social and cultural freedoms.<p>The "culture wars" are as old as the Islamic revolution that swept conservative clerics to power more than three decades ago. The latest chapter comes as Rouhani is negotiating a nuclear deal with six world powers. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 Deborah Amos 21702 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Iran's Culture Wars: Who's Winning These Days? A Sheep Killer Is On The Loose In 'All the Birds, Singing' http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/sheep-killer-loose-all-birds-singing Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>Jake Whyte is a young woman who lives in a wild, windy, bloody world. She lives alone, save for her dog, whose name is Dog, and the sheep she tends on a small island off the coast of Britain. The men who work on the island call Jake a good bloody bloke, although many locals wonder why strangers come into their midst. It can't be the work or the weather, which are tough and raw - raw like the mysterious scars on Jake's back. Jake White is at the center of the Evie Wyld's new novel "All the Birds, Singing." Evie Wyld joins us now from the BBC in London. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 editor 21705 at http://ualrpublicradio.org School Lunch: Any Chicken In Those 'Food-Like Nubbins'? http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/any-chicken-those-school-lunch-food-nubbins It took a Freedom of Information Act to get the Chicago Public Schools to disclose what's in the chicken nuggets they serve in their cafeterias. NPR's Scott Simon reveals the chemical contents. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 editor 21706 at http://ualrpublicradio.org PGA Puts On A Masters Without Tiger http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/pga-puts-masters-without-tiger Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Scott Simon. I look forward all week to saying it's time for sports. The tigers without master - the Masters without Tiger? You know, it's so hard to imagine, I can barely say it. And the Indiana Pacers are swooning like Justin Bieber fans this week. We're joined now by NPR's Tom Goldman. Good morning, Tom.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: Hi, Scott.<p>SIMON: So there was a slight glimmer of hope that the Pacers could be coming out of a tailspin, but alas...<p>GOLDMAN: Alas. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 editor 21707 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Jackie Collins' Mob Princess Serves Up A Cookbook You Can't Refuse http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/jackie-collins-mob-princess-serves-cookbook-you-cant-refuse Lucky Santangelo is a household name — at least, in those households where the shelves are packed with Jackie Collins novels. And considering there are more than 500 million copies sold, well, Santangelo's certainly got a fan base.<p>She's the heroine, more or less, of seven Collins novels, including <em>Vendetta: Lucky's Revenge</em>, <em>Dangerous Kiss, Drop Dead Beautiful</em>, and <em>Goddess of Vengeance</em>. And Santangelo herself is a bit all of those things: the beautiful daughter of a former mob boss who has her own way of making offers people can't refuse. Sat, 12 Apr 2014 13:04:00 +0000 NPR Staff 21713 at http://ualrpublicradio.org Jackie Collins' Mob Princess Serves Up A Cookbook You Can't Refuse