Arkansas Governor Beebe Seeks Federal Disaster Declaration

Jun 19, 2013

Gov. Mike Beebe has sent a letter to President Barack Obama requesting a major disaster declaration for 12 Arkansas counties that were affected by severe storms, tornadoes and floods beginning in late May.

Beebe's office said Tuesday that those 12 counties are Cleburne, Cross, Garland, Independence, Montgomery, Poinsett, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Stone, Van Buren and Woodruff.

The governor's office says the disaster declaration would make Arkansas eligible to receive federal aid to help the state, cities and counties recover from infrastructure damage.

Beebe's office says state and federal damage assessments totaled nearly $10 million.

Beebe's office says five deaths and 18 injuries were attributed to the round of severe weather that started May 30.