Arkansas Governor Declares Disaster From Recent Storms

May 31, 2013

Gov. Mike Beebe has declared six counties disaster areas as a result of recent tornadoes, severe storms and flooding in Arkansas.

Beebe on Friday declared Cross, Montgomery, Poinsett, Polk, Scott and Van Buren Counties as state disaster areas. Judges in all six of the counties have already made their own disaster declarations as well.

A statement from Beebe's office says damage assessments from the storms are not complete and more counties are expected to be added to the disaster declaration.