Arkansas Requests Disaster Declaration After Flooding

Aug 27, 2013

Arkansas Gov. Mike Beebe is asking the federal government for a major disaster declaration for six counties affected by severe storms and torrential flooding that began earlier this month.

The counties include Benton, Boone, Carroll, Madison, Marion and Newton.

The declaration would make Arkansas eligible to receive federal aid to help the state, cities and counties recover from infrastructure damage. State-and-federal damage assessments totaled $5.6 million, with nearly all of that cost coming from damage to roads and bridges.

Dozens of highways and 100 residential roads closed at some point due to the flooding. Some parts of the region received 15 inches of rain in less than a week.