Disaster Unemployment Assistance For Arkansas Counties

Jun 30, 2015

Flooding in Miller County, Arkansas on May 29.
Credit KTXK

Residents in nine Arkansas counties declared disaster areas because of recent storms, tornadoes and flooding may be eligible for disaster unemployment assistance. 

Residents - including the self-employed - who lost jobs as a direct result of storms from May 7 through June 15 in Crawford, Garland, Howard, Jefferson, Little River, Miller, Perry, Sebastian and Sevier counties could be eligible for payments.

Claims must be filed between July 1 and July at Arkansas Department of Workforce Services offices. Offices taking claims are in Fort Smith; Hot Springs; Hope; Pine Bluff; Texarkana; Conway; and Russellville. Individuals must have worked or have been scheduled to work in the disaster area.

Applicants should bring a government issued photo ID; Social Security card; name and address of the last place of employment; and documents verifying income.