Many Arkansas Counties Haven't Applied For Civil War Marker

Jul 22, 2013

The Arkansas Civil War Sesquicentennial Commission says nearly half of Arkansas' counties have yet to apply for a marker to note the county's history in the US Civil War.

The commission hopes to place a marker in all 75 of the state's counties to tell of a Civil War event in that county. But officials say 34 counties have neither a marker in place nor an application asking for approval of one.

Commission member Mark Christ of the Arkansas Historic Preservation Program says the counties include Ashley, Baxter, Bradley, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland and Grant. Also on the list are Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Montgomery, Newton, Perry, Poinsett, Polk, Pope, Randolph, Saline, Sevier, Sharp, St. Francis and Stone.