Runoff Election To Be Held For Vacant Arkansas Senate Seat

Jan 14, 2015

Unofficial results from the Arkansas Secretary of State show a runoff will be needed to choose the lawmaker who will replace former Senate President Michael Lamoureux.

Greg Standridge and Stan Berry were the two highest vote-getters in Tuesday's primary. The Russellville Courier reports they will compete Feb. 10 for the District 16 seat because no candidate received a majority.

According to the state agency's website, Standridge received about 47.8 percent of the total 4,438 votes. Berry received about 41 percent of the vote, and Thomas Akin received about 11 percent.

Lamoureux resigned to work as chief of staff for Republican Governor Asa Hutchinson.

The seat is set to remain in GOP control because no Democrats filed to run in the April 14 special election.