Medical Marijuana

marijuana
npr.org

In a new survey, Arkansas voters made it clear they prefer the implementation of medical marijuana to allow for smoking cannabis and not waiting for federal law to allow for statewide usage.

A new Talk Business & Politics-Hendrix College poll asked 440 Arkansas voters for their preferences on two debates occurring at the state legislature regarding medical marijuana’s implementation. Voters approved the measure last November by a 53-47% margin. In the latest survey conducted Tuesday, Feb. 14, voters were asked:

Talk Business & Politics

Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge said that contradictions between state and federal law regarding medical marijuana usage will ultimately be a decision that federal prosecutors must reconcile. In the interim, Rutledge is advising state lawmakers to follow through with their duties to incorporate a voter-approved amendment into Arkansas code.

Rutledge, who appeared on Talk Business & Politics on Sunday, explained her first opinion request on the medical marijuana dilemma.

marijuana
npr.org

Gov. Asa Hutchinson signed the first two medical marijuana bills into law Monday.

House Bill 1026 by Rep. Doug House, R-North Little Rock, extends the deadline for rule making from 120 days after the election to 180. It passed the Senate Jan. 19 after earlier passing the House.

Arkansas lawmakers have given their final approval to legislation delaying the launch of the state's voter-approved medical marijuana program.

The House on Thursday voted 91-0 for an amendment to the measure giving agencies until early May rather than March to finalize rules for the program. The Senate earlier Thursday approved the delay by a 27-0 vote.

The measure also delays the deadline for the state to begin accepting dispensary applications from June 1 to July 1. Supporters said the extra time is needed for the public to have input on the new rules.

Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission
Brian Chilson / Arkansas Times

The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission says it will allow 32 dispensaries to be evenly distributed among the state's four congressional districts.

The commission also set application and licensing fees for dispensaries Tuesday. The main source of medical marijuana in the state will be cultivation facilities.

Dispensaries that choose not to grow medical marijuana will be charged a $2,500 initial license fee and a $10,000 yearly fee.

Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission
Brian Chilson / Arkansas Times

The state initially will grant licenses to five marijuana cultivation facilities, one for each of its five public health regions, the newly formed Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission decided Tuesday.

The vote was the first step taken by the commission to move the state closer to allowing certain patients access to the drug.

Pages