38 Arkansas Counties Declared Disaster Areas After Severe Weather

Feb 6, 2016

Dozens of Arkansas counties have been declared disaster areas by President Barack Obama after severe weather and flooding inundated the state between December and January.

After the president's disaster declaration on Friday, the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management says 38 counties now qualify for federal assistance.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson had asked the White House for a major disaster declaration because it allows residents and local governments in the affected areas apply.

Emergency managers from state and federal agencies will soon announce plans to open offices throughout the affected counties to accept assistance applications.