Arkansas' Congressional Delegation Seeks Federal Disaster Aid

Dec 27, 2013

All six members of Arkansas' congressional delegation have sent letters to President Barack Obama and the Federal Emergency Management Agency supporting Gov. Mike Beebe's request for a disaster declaration. The lawmakers say the letter sent Friday supports Beebe's request for the declaration for 15 counties affected by a winter snow and ice storm from Dec. 5-8 that left one person dead.

The letters were sent by U.S. Sens. Mark Pryor and John Boozman and Representatives Rick Crawford, Tim Griffin, Tom Cotton and Steve Womack. Pryor is a Democrat, the other five are Republicans.

Beebe's request includes Crawford, Franklin, Independence, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Newton, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sharp, and Van Buren counties. The declaration would make Arkansas eligible for federal aid to help areas recover from infrastructure damage.