Arkansas Governor Names Members To Criminal Justice Panel

Apr 27, 2015

File photo of inmates at a state prison facility in Pine Bluff.
Credit Sarah Whites-Koditschek / KUAR

Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson has named 16 members to a legislative task force that will study the reforms enacted this year to ease a backlog of state prisoners in local jails.

Hutchinson on Monday named his appointees to the Legislative Criminal Justice Oversight Task Force, which is set to hold its first meeting on Thursday.

The panel's members include the chairmen of the parole and corrections boards, and the directors of the departments of correction and community correction. Hutchinson also appointed Little Rock Police Chief Kenton Buckner, Saline County Prosecutor Ken Casady and Washington County Sheriff Tim Helder.

Senate President Jonathan Dismang and House Speaker Jeremy Gillam will also each have an appointee to the task force.