Farmers Must Certify Crops To Be Eligible For Disaster Programs

Jul 6, 2013

The head of the small farm program at the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff says farmers need to certify crops planted in the spring by July 15th in order to be eligible for disaster programs. 

Crops that should be certified include corn, cotton, grain sorghum, soybeans and rice.

Commercial vegetables, including okra, cucumbers, watermelons, squash, southern peas and sweet potatoes should be certified too. 

Many Farm Service Agency programs require that cropland on a farm be certified to earn FSA benefits.