Five Named To Panel That Will Craft Arkansas's Medical Marijuana Plan

Dec 7, 2016

Senate President Pro Tem Jonathan Dismang, Gov. Asa Hutchinson and House Speaker Jeremy Gillam at Wednesday's announcement at the Capitol.
Credit Michael Hibblen / KUAR News

Gov. Asa Hutchinson and legislative leaders have appointed the five members of a board that will develop Arkansas' medical marijuana policy.

Hutchinson on Wednesday named Little Rock breast cancer surgeon Dr. Ronda Henry-Tillman to the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission. House Speaker Jeremy Gillam appointed Benton pharmacist Stephen Carroll and lawyer Travis Story of Fayetteville. Senate President Pro Tem Jonathan Dismang named former Senate chief of staff James Miller of Bryant and pain specialist Dr. J. Carlos Roman of Little Rock.

Voters last month approved marijuana use by people suffering from certain medical conditions. The commission is to set up rules and regulations governing cultivation and distribution.

The governor and legislative leaders said numerous people volunteered to serve.

Arkansas is the first Bible Belt state to approve medical marijuana.