Little Rock Nine To Receive Abraham Lincoln Leadership Prize

May 7, 2015

The Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library Foundation is planning to honor the surviving members of the Little Rock Nine with its Lincoln Leadership Prize later this month.

The foundation said Thursday that it would honor the civil rights figures on May 18 during a dinner in Chicago. Actress and playwright Regina Taylor will present the awards.

A hostile crowd confronted the nine students as they helped integrate Little Rock Central High School in Arkansas in 1957. They became known as the Little Rock Nine.

The foundation says the prize is given to those with character, conscience and a commitment to democracy and service.

Previous recipients of the award include former President Bill Clinton, Archbishop Desmond Tutu and former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor.