Moderate Wildfire Danger In Southern, Central Arkansas

Aug 7, 2015

The Arkansas Forestry Commission says 37 counties in southern and central Arkansas are under a moderate wildfire danger because of dry vegetation and the expectation of continued dry conditions.

In addition, burn bans have been issued in 13 counties in the state. The counties are Chicot, Faulkner, Garland, Jefferson, Lincoln, Hempstead, Howard, Miller, Montgomery, Ouachita, Polk, Saline, and Union.

The commission says August is the normal beginning for the second yearly wildfire season in the state. The seasons usually take place from February through April and August through October.

The commission says Arkansas has had 617 wildfires thus far in 2015 that have burned nearly 10,000 acres - or about 15 square miles.