Three More Arkansas Counties Declared Disaster Area, Up To 16

Mar 14, 2016

Arkansas counties with disaster declarations.
Credit Jacob Kauffman / KUAR

Three more Arkansas counties have been declared disaster areas by Governor Asa Hutchinson. The addition of Columbia, Prairie, and Scott counties brings the total to 16.

The declarations follow flooding and heavy rainfall that inundated the state last week, with most of the damage in the southeast. The governor's office says additional counties may still be added as damage assessments continue.

The state is forecast to be relatively rain free for the next several days with a slight chance of rainfall re-emerging early Saturday.

Counties Declared Disaster Areas:

  • Arkansas
  • Ashley
  • Bradley
  • Calhoun
  • Chicot
  • Cleveland
  • Columbia
  • Desha
  • Drew
  • Jefferson
  • Lincoln
  • Monroe
  • Ouachita
  • Phillips
  • Prairie
  • Scott